Wirral council supports Orgreave public inquiry

At its December meeting Wirral council agreed to write to the Home Secretary, asking her to order a public inquiry into what happened at Orgreave. The motion was carried without any votes against. The full text is printed below. Learn more about the Orgreave Truth and Justice Campaign and why it matters here.OrgreaveHillsborough

105. Motion – Orgreave Truth and Justice Campaign

Proposed by Councillor Christine Spriggs Seconded by Councillor Brian Kenny

This Council is concerned and disappointed by the Home Secretary’s rejection on the 31st October, 2016 of an Inquiry into the policing of events at Orgreave.

This Council observes that the Independent Police Commission said in their redacted report released in June 2015 “that there was evidence of excessive violence by police officers, and a false narrative from police exaggerating violence by miners, perjury by officers giving evidence to prosecute the arrested men, and an apparent cover-up of that perjury by senior officers”.

This Council believes in the light of such statements that the Home Secretary needs to review her decision and ensure that there is a full public inquiry into the events at the Orgreave coking plant on 18th June 1984.

This Council notes that 95 miners were arrested and charged with offences, but were all later acquitted amid claims that police at the time had fabricated evidence.

Council agrees to write to the Home Secretary and ask that she takes into account the opinion of this Council and accepts that there is widespread public concern about events at Orgreave and calls for her to order a public inquiry into them.

Having applied the guillotine in accordance with minute 99 ante, the Council did not debate this matter.

Prior to the motion being put to the vote, Councillor Blakeley and five Conservative Members rose to request a ‘card vote’.

A ‘card vote’ was then taken and the Council divided as follows:

For the motion (53) Councillors R Abbey, T Anderson, B Berry, C Blakeley A Brighouse, P Brightmore, D Burgess-Joyce, C Carubia, P Cleary, A Davies, G Davies, P Davies, P Doughty, D Elderton, G Ellis, S Foulkes, P Gilchrist, J Green, P Hackett, P Hayes, A Hodson, AER Jones, C Jones, S Kelly, B Kenny, A Leech, I Lewis, M McLaughlin, J McManus, C Meaden, B Mooney, C Muspratt, T Norbury, C Povall, D Realey, L Reecejones, L Rennie, L Rowlands, PA Smith, C Spriggs, J Stapleton, P Stuart, M Sullivan, A Sykes, T Usher, J Walsh, W Ward, G Watt, S Whittingham, I Williams, KJ Williams, J Williamson and G Wood.

Against the motion (0)

One abstention – Councillor A McLachlan (Civic Mayor).